National Philharmonic: In Memoriam – Hailstork & Strauss – Free Streaming Concert

January 17, 2021 to @ 07:00 PM - January 17, 2021 @ 07:15 PM
share this event
Get Directions


Tuckerman Lane Montgomery County,

Additional Information

Phone: 202.669.4106
Name: National Philharmonic


Piotr Gajewski, conductor. Adolphus Hailstork, Essay for Strings
Richard Strauss, Metamorphosen, Study for 23 Solo Strings

From Adolphus Hailstork, whose style blends musical ideas from both the African American and European traditions,you’ll be treated to Essay for strings. This one-movement composition is a tribute to colleague Glen Hull. It is based on his initials,G. H., which in music are represented by the pitches of G and B-natural, heard throughout the piece.

Richard Strauss’s Metamorphosen is scored for ten violins, five violas, five cellos, and three double basses. Composed during the closing months of World War II, from August 1944 to March 1945, the piece mirrors the agony, chaos, and destruction of the time.Towards the end, you will hear several bars of the funeral march theme from Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony quoted explicitly in the bass part, accompanied by the words “In Memoriam!” in the score.

National Philharmonic’s 2020-2021 orchestral concert season, conducted by Maestro Piotr Gajewski, will be streamed from the stage of The Music Center at Strathmore to a device of your choice at no charge. Programs feature a mix of classical masters you love, like Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, and Chopin, and contemporary composers that may become new favorites, including Jessie Montgomery, Carlos Simon, Adolphus Hailstork, Henry Dehlinger and Janice Hammer.