September-October 2012 | Photos

The Trawick Prize 2012 Awards Ceremony

The winners of The Trawick Prize announced on Wednesday, September 5.

The winners of the The Trawick Prize: Bethesda Contemporary Art Awards 2012 were announced Wednesday, September 5 at an awards ceremony and reception held at Gallery B in Bethesda .

Artist Lillian Bayley Hoover of Baltimore won Best in Show and $10,000. Second place and $2,000 went to David D’Orio of Mt. Rainier. Dean Kessmann of Washington, D.C. won third place and $1,000. Hannah Walsh of Richmond , VA , won the Young Artist Award, for artists under 30, and $1,000.

Bethesda businesswoman and philanthropist Carol Trawick founded The Trawick Prize 10 years ago to recognize the talent of artists from Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia.

The Trawick Prize is produced by the Bethesda Urban Partnership and the Bethesda Arts & Entertainment District. The 2012 finalists' work can be viewed at Gallery B now through September 29.