2021 | Government

One incumbent, one newcomer elected to Chevy Chase Town Council

Elections decided in other Montgomery County municipalities; some upcoming

share this

File photo

One incumbent and one newcomer will be joining the Chevy Chase Town Council, following the town’s vote-by-mail election this month.

Incumbent Joel Rubin and newcomer Joy White both ran uncontested in the election.

Town Manager Todd Hoffman said Rubin received 442 votes and White received 463 votes. Ballots were required to be mailed by May 4 and received by May 11.

Mayor Cecily Baskir, whose term is expiring, chose not to run for reelection, Hoffman said.

Hoffman said that at the council’s meeting Wednesday night, the council decided that for the upcoming term, Barney Rush would serve as mayor, Irene Lane as vice mayor, White as treasurer, Rubin as secretary and Ellen Cornelius Ericson as community liaison.

Many other independent municipalities in Montgomery County also recently held elections recently, or will do so in coming weeks:

• In the Village of Martin’s Additions, six candidates are running for two seats on the village council. The candidates are Alex Ghesquiere, Katie Filipczyk Howard, Andrew Kauders, Marty Langelan, Brian Oliver and Larry Wasson.

The election is being conducted entirely by mail. Ballots must be postmarked by May 13 and received by May 20.

• In Garrett Park, Danuta Dobosz, Stephen Paczkowski and Phil Schulp ran uncontested for three seats on the town council. They were considered elected as of May 3, according to the town’s website.

• In the Village of North Chevy Chase, incumbents Brian Hoffner and Chas Stuart were re-elected and Olga Joos was appointed to the council in April following the resignation of Ronald Jones, Village Manager Dana Peterson wrote in an email.

• In Chevy Chase Section 3, all incumbents were returned to office in Tuesday’s election, Village Manager Andy Leon Harney wrote in an email to Bethesda Beat on Wednesday. Susan Manning will serve as chair of the council, he wrote. Larry Lanpher will serve as vice chair and Carolyn Greis will serve as buildings and roads representative.

• In Chevy Chase View, incumbent Pete Marks ran along with newcomer Nancy Somerville and a third candidate in an uncontested race, Town Manager Jana Coe told Bethesda Beat on Tuesday. But Coe declined to name the third candidate, saying they withdrew “for personal reasons.”

Incumbents Ron Sherrow and Lisa Fair chose not to run for reelection, she said.

Coe said Marks and Somerville were sworn in at the council’s meeting on Tuesday.

The town is planning to hold a special election by mail for the one open seat on June 14, and is accepting nominations through May 21. However, there won’t be an election if the race is uncontested, she said.

“If we have one nominee for that one position, they would be deemed elected May 25,” she said.

• The Town of Kensington is holding its election in person at Town Hall on June 7. Voters can also request an absentee ballot before the election. Incumbents Darin Bartram and Conor Crimmins are up for reelection, and both are running. Challenger Tim Willard is also running.

Dan Schere can be reached at daniel.schere@bethesdamagazine.com