Photo by Daren Exum/Exum Exquisite Photography

Editors' Pick

Best Tribute to Sports Stars

The Montgomery County Sports Hall of Fame (MCSHF)

We’ve always known that Montgomery County is full of ridiculously good athletes. Now the county’s most accomplished sports stars are being honored through a newly formed hall of fame. Six hometown legends got the nod as the inaugural class of inductees: two Olympic gold medalists—Katie Ledecky, a swimmer from Bethesda, and Dominique Dawes, a gymnast from Silver Spring; Shawn Springs, a former Redskins cornerback and Springbrook High School alum; professional soccer player and Olympian Bruce Murray, who graduated from Winston Churchill High School; Bob Milloy, who won 405 games in 47 years as the head football coach at Walt Whitman, Springbrook, Sherwood and Good Counsel high schools; and National Baseball Hall of Fame pitcher Walter Johnson (known as “The Big Train”) of the Washington Senators.

The Montgomery County Sports Hall of Fame (MCSHF) honored the inductees during a September ceremony at the Silver Spring Civic Center. MCSHF doesn’t have a permanent home yet, but its board of directors hopes to have a mobile location that can move around the county. Future nominations will be accepted in several categories—athletes, teams, coaches, officials, mentors, volunteers and contributors—and anyone can submit one. As MCSHF expands, organizers hope to include athletes with physical and developmental disabilities.