From left: Del. Sara Love (D), Del. Marc Korman (D), Sen. Susan Lee (D) and Del. Ariana Kelly (D) Credit: Courtesy Sara Love

The four Democratic state lawmakers representing District 16 — parts of Bethesda, Glen Echo, Kensington, Potomac and Friendship Village — filed for re-election Friday.

Dels. Ariana Kelly, Marc Korman and Sara Love and state Sen. Susan Lee announced Friday that they are running as a team in 2022.

Kelly was first elected to the House of Delegates in 2010, Korman in 2014 and Love in 2018. 

Lee was first elected to the Senate in 2014. She previously served in the House of Delegates, where she was first elected in 2002.

The four said in a news release they “have committed to continue to advance a progressive agenda for District 16.”

As of Friday afternoon, there were no other filings for District 16.


In three other Montgomery County state legislative districts, all four incumbents have filed to run for re-election:

  • District 14: Sen. Craig Zucker and Dels. Anne Kaiser, Eric Luedtke and Pamela Queen
  • District 18: Sen. Jeff Waldstreicher and Dels. Al Carr, Emily Shetty and Jared Solomon
  • District 19: Sen. Ben Kramer and Dels. Charlotte Crutchfield, Bonnie Cullison and Vaughn Stewart

The filing deadline is Feb. 22, 2022.

The 2022 primary election is scheduled for June 28 and the general election is Nov. 8.