Montgomery County District Court in Rockville Credit: FILE PHOTO BY JOE ZIMMERMANN

This story was updated at 12:25 p.m. Dec. 21.

Gov. Larry Hogan on Thursday named four appointments to fill Montgomery County District Court judicial vacancies.

Three District Court seats were open because judges retired. A fourth District Court judge recently was chosen for Circuit Court.

The appointments, with information provided by Hogan’s office, are:

• Carlos Acosta, the inspector general for the Prince George’s County Police Department since 2012. Previously, he was a media program manager for the U.S. Department of Justice and also has been an assistant state’s attorney in Montgomery and Prince George’s counties.

• Amy Bills, the division chief for the Juvenile Court within the Montgomery County State’s Attorney. She has been a prosecutor in Montgomery County since 1997, including in District Court and Circuit Court.

• Karen Ferretti, a partner with the firm Armstrong, Donohue, Ceppos, Vaughan & Rhoades, Chtd. She has been with the firm since 2011. Previously, she worked at McCarthy, Wilson & Ethridge and clerked for former Montgomery County Circuit Court Judge D. Warren Donohue.

• Aileen Oliver, a solo practitioner in Montgomery County since 1998. Previously, she was a claims litigation counsel for State Farm Insurance Co. and, for five years, was a prosecutor in Prince George’s County.

All four were among the 10 finalists the Judicial Nominating Commission for Montgomery County forwarded to Hogan in July.

The county had three District Court openings because of the retirement of Judges Barry A. Hamilton, Gary G. Everngam and Eugene Wolfe.

A fourth seat opened when Hogan nominated District Court Judge Margaret Schweitzer this month to Montgomery County Circuit Court.

A District Court judge is appointed by the governor, with the approval of the Senate, to a 10-year term.

Last week, Hogan named Schweitzer, David Warren Lease and Jill Reid Cummins to fill Montgomery County Circuit Court vacancies. Lease and Cummins also were among the 10 finalists for District Court judges seats.